UCSB CS Theory Colloquium Series


To subscribe to the mailing list, send an email (anything) to:
        theory-colloquium+subscribe@cs.ucsb.edu

Fall 2022 Schedule



Friday, November 18: Anupam Gupta (CMU), Henley Hall 1010 at noon
                Title: Algorithms for Uncertain Environments: Going Beyond the Worst-Case
                        Abstract available here.

Wednesday, November 9: Tuukka Korhonen (Bergen), HFH 1132 at 3:30pm
                Title: Improved Parameterized Algorithm and Approximation Scheme for Treewidth
                        Abstract available here.

Wednesday, October 26: Charlie Carlson (Colorado), HFH 1132 at 3:30pm
                Title: Algorithms for the Ferromagnetic Potts model on expanders
                        Abstract available here.

Friday, October 28: Daniel Frishberg (UC Irvine), Henley Hall 1010 at noon
                Title: Flow-based projection-restriction methods for rapid mixing of geometric and combinatorial Markov chains
                        Abstract available here.

Friday, September 30: CS-PSTAT Distinguished Lecture by Persi Diaconis (Stanford)
                Title: Adding Numbers and Shuffling Cards
                        Abstract available here.


Spring 2022 Schedule



Friday, May 13: Alexandra Kolla (UC Santa Cruz)
                Title: Statistical physics approaches to Unique Games
                        Abstract available here.

Friday, May 6: Michael Mitzenmacher (Harvard)
                Title: Algorithms with Predictions
                        Abstract available here.

Friday, April 29: Mikhail Belkin (UCSD)
                Title: Neural networks: optimization, transition to linearity and deviations therefrom                         Abstract available here.

Friday, April 22: Christina Boucher (Florida)
                Title: Building scalable indexes that can be efficiently queried
                        Abstract available here.

Friday, April 15: Sepideh Mahabadi (Microsoft)
                Title: Diversity Maximization over Large Data Sets
                        Abstract available here.

Friday, April 1: Yang Liu (Stanford)
                Title: Maximum Flow and Minimum-Cost Flow in Almost-Linear Time.
                        Abstract available here.

Friday, March 11: Qipeng Liu (Simons)
                Title: Quantum Algorithms for Variants of Average-Case Lattice Problems via Filtering
                        Abstract available here.

Friday, March 4: Venkatesan Guruswami (Berkeley/Simons)
                Title: Recent Progress on Binary Deletion-Correcting Codes
                        Abstract available here.

Friday, February 18: Alex Grilo (CNRS/Sorbonne Université)
                Title: Hamiltonian complexity meets derandomization
                        Abstract available here

Fall 2021 Schedule



Friday, October 1: Grant Schoenebeck (Michigan)
                Title: Eliciting Expert Information without Verification
                        Abstract available here

Friday, October 8: at 1pm Prabhanjan Ananth (UC Santa Barbara)
                Title: Secure Software Leasing
                        Abstract available here

Friday, October 15: No talk (faculty meeting all day)

Tuesday, October 19: at 3pm (joint with Statistical Machine Learning)
                Audra McMillan (Apple)
                Title: Privacy Amplification by Shuffling
                        Abstract available here

Friday, October 22: Sanjoy Dasgupta (UC San Diego)
                Title: Some recent theoretical directions in clustering
                        Abstract available here

Friday, October 29: Thuy-Duong Vuong (Stanford)
                Title: Fractionally Log-Concave and Sector-Stable Polynomials: Counting Planar Matchings and More
                        Abstract available here

Friday, November 5: Sarah Cannon (Claremont McKenna)
                Title: Properties of Redistricting Markov Chains
                        Abstract available here

Friday, November 12: Ioannis Panageas (UC Irvine)
                Title: Global Convergence of Multi-Agent Policy Gradient in Markov Potential Games
                        Abstract available here

Friday, November 19: Doubleheader
2pm: Dheeraj Baby (UC Santa Barbara)
                Title: Optimal Dynamic Regret in Exp-Concave Online Learning
                        Abstract available here
3:15pm: Alex Meiburg (UC Santa Barbara)
                Title: Inapproximability of Positive Semidefinite Permanents and Quantum State Tomography
                        Abstract available here


Friday, November 26: No talk (Thanksgiving)

Friday, December 3: Andrea Coladangelo (UC Berkeley/Simons)
                Title: Deniable Encryption in a Quantum World
                        Abstract available here



To receive talk reminders, please subscribe to the CS Theory Colloquium
mailing list by sending an email (anything) to:
        theory-colloquium+subscribe@cs.ucsb.edu